Thursday, 29 August 2013

Balance Presents Guy J, review

Balance presents Guy J
Guy J's mix for the Balance mix album series is full of his staple sound of techy tunes, infused with beautiful and lush melodies. Balance Presents Guy J is a great mix album, but leaves you asking one question only. More on that at the end.

Never one to hit you straight between the eyes with his mixes, Guy J's Balance opens up with the lush (and long) intro of "DJ Yellow & Flowers And Sea Creatures – No One Gets Left Behind (Guy J Remix)". The mix into track 2's "Roger Martinez & Secret Cinema – Menthol Raga (Guy J Remix)" is thoughtful and mesmerizing. At this early stage, its clear that a quality listening experience is about to had.

As the mix proceeds, this becomes fact as one after the other, each tune builds on its predecessor. What we have here is a tech house/progressive type of journey. It's really nice.

So, what is the best tune on the album?

Well, they are all good but if Spadang is pushed to choose, Echomen – Perpetual (Guy J Remix): stunning.

A few other reviews of this album imply that this is quite a deep and dark mix. We have no problem at with that sort of sound, but neither applies to this Guy J mix (well we think that, anyway). No, the whole mix is about the sort of sound you'd expect to come from a great producer/DJ who is really at the top of his game here.

So tell us, what question needs answering? We can't bear the pressure of not knowing.

Simply put: Balance Presents Guy J? What is the Balance series doing only giving Guy J a "presents" entry in their impressive line up of mixes? Surely Guy J should have been given a slot in the main Balance series?

As you all know, Guy J has released two brilliant artist albums and is an awesome DJ. Oh and he now has a successful recording label, of his own too!

It's rumoured the brilliant Robert Babicz, is to get a stab at the main Balance series soon: If Robert Babicz is big enough, then so is Guy J.

But that minor quibble aside, Balance Presents Guy J is a great mix and well worth you attention. Quality all the way.

1. No One Gets Left Behind (Guy J Remix) - DJ Yellow
2. Menthol Raga (Guy J Remix) - Secret Cinema
3. Santa Fe (Guy J Remix) - Henry Saiz
4. Migrants (Radio Slave Accapella Guy J Edit/remix) - Juan Deminicis
5. Once Upon a Time (Guy J Remix) - Juan Deminicis
6. Phases of Grief (Guy J Remix) - Navar
7. Fever (Pezzner Mix/City Life Accapella Guy J Edit/remix) - DJ T.
8. Waitin' (Charles Webster Mix Guy J Edit/remix) - Lanoiraude
9. Day One (Guy J Remix) - Dactilar
10. Perpetual (Guy J Remix) - Echomen
11. I'm Your Country (Guy J Remix) - Guy Mantzur
12. Killa (Guy J Remix) - Way Out West
13. Duba (Guy J Remix) - Robert Babicz
Friday, 23 August 2013

Never Say Never (July 2013), mixed by Sasha - review

Never Say Never (July 2013), mixed by Sasha - review
Sasha delivers a covermount mix CD, courtesy of Mixmag, just like he did in 2011. And, just like the mix of 2011, this is an amazing journey of a mix. Full of trademark Sasha tracks from the likes of the excellent Henry Saiz.

The Mixmag cover mount CD from 2011 blew us away and this mix does too. Possibly more so.

Spadang as you may have guessed, from reading our other reviews is a HUGE fan of Sasha, since before his landmark Renaissance mix. But to say this mix is as good as we think it is, is not through bias: it's because it really IS that good.

Right from the start, Home Video's "Every Love That Ever Was" grabs you and the mix doesn't let you go until the last dying seconds of Phon.o's "Scnn33". There are no weak (space filler) tunes in between either. You really feel that each tune was picked out of choice, to deliver a mix of perfection.

But is there a stand out track?
Yes, Henry Saiz's "I Can Feel It Coming" is the best tune, amongst some really strong competition. It's melody and hypnotic vocal are intoxicating.

But it's the the way Sasha has mixed this tune with what follows, that is really impressive. The mix goes on for a long long time and the vocal "I Can Feel It Coming" pervades brilliantly, in the background of the excellent Bonobo's "Eyesdown".

Baikal's "Why Don’t Ya" (Ripperton remix), also stands out as the most peak time track of the whole mix - a great way to set up the ending of the mix.

If you didn't buy the edition of Mixmag, that this was attached to, it's a shame: you've missed out.

When we reviewed Sasha's Mixmag cover mount from 2011, we said much the same as we do here:

"We have to rate this mix as a proper Journey. Anything we don't like? It's too short."

1. Home Video - ‘Every Love That Ever Was’ (Sasha edit)
2. MOTSA - ‘Sleepless Nights’
3. Miyagi - ‘Goodbye Girl’ (Fairmont remix)
4. Henry Saiz - ‘I Can Feel It Coming’
5. Bonobo - ‘Eyesdown’ (Sasha remix)
6. Chaim - ‘What’s Your Name’
7. Dusky - ‘Mr Man’
8. Henrik Schwarz - ‘Take Words In Return’
9. Henrik Schwarz - ‘Take Words In Return’ (C2 remix)
10. Arthur Oskan - ‘Omegaman’
11. Andhim - ‘Wizard of Us’
12. Henry Saiz feat eloy - ‘It’s Not Over’
13. Baikal - ‘Why Don’t Ya’ (Ripperton remix)
14. Phon.o -‘Scnn33’