Monday, 19 December 2016

Bedrock 18 review

Bedrock 18Bedrock 18 is a three disc compilation of tunes, released on this great recording label, to celebrate its 18th birthday. This one isn't a mix album, but John Digweed did compile the tunes on here and its a great selection, as you would expect. Discs 1 and 2 make up the compilation side of things, whereas disc 3 is actually an artist album by C-Jay entitled Echoes. The whole thing is full of quality, from start to finish.

Disc 1 gets off to a realy good start with Emerson, Digweed & Muir's, Fanfare. It's closely followed by the equally good Mumbo Jumbo, by Quivver. Disc 1 is laced with lots of rich melody from all tracks. It's a really good listen. It's laid back(ish) tone, is punctuated by clever and mellow bassiness, so that this can't be descibed as ambient. But I don't mind that one bit!

There aren't any weak tracks on disc 1, the whole lot are more than worthy of being included. Track 4, Sebastian Markiewicz's Sensation has a really infectious tune woven into it along with the bassiness I mentioned. Digitaria's Revenge Of The Fantasy, Moonface's, Across The Gulf Of Space and Eagles & Butterflies's Murder Was The Bass are all typical Bedrock tunes which make disc 1 a very good collection of music.

Disc 2 is a bit more uptempo, after disc 1. It begins with a brilliantly atmospheric track by Quivver: This Was. It is an amazing track, with the rich synth melody that rolls through it. I really like it a lot. But I am also really enjoying the tougher vibe that comes with Tiefstone's Kratos. It's a pretty relentless and moody tune and demands to be played loud.

D-Nox & Beckers's Mondays is another great tuneful addition with its weaving melody. It's really nice. the good tunes just keep coming with the amazing The Dock And The Elevator, by UNER. Could it be the best tune on here? It's a contender, as is the Tiefstone track. Disc 2 is my slight favourite out of disc 1 and 2 as its tougher, yet tuneful vibe really are what I wanna hear! Dave Angel's Inside Out is a brilliant piece of techno, which deserves to be highlighted here. But there are no weak tracks on disc 2 either.

Discs 1 and 2 are both very high on quality and no tune is here to fill space. They are all deserving of their place.

Echoes, C-Jay (disc 3)

As part of the compilation, we are also treated to Echoes an artist album by "chilled maestro C-Jay". And very chilled and nice it is too.

Things start in a very hypnotic way with Finko. It's long and tuneful chords are mesmerizing as they weave and swerve. The ambient tone continues through each track to deliver a beautifully chilled hour long journey. I like the whole album and like the way each tune compliments the last. Saying that, it's nice to treat it as one long tune. It really works!

But taking each track individually (Echoes is an album!), I like them all, but Finko, The Experience of Love, Equanimity and Carte Blanche really are deep in quality. Very rich and harmonic.

Bedrock 18 is a very solid compilation and C-Jay's Echoes is a welcome part of it.


01. Emerson, Digweed & Muir - Fanfare - Darren Emerson Reprise
02. Quivver - Mumbo Jumbo - Reprise
03. Sebastian Markiewicz - Sensation
04. Collective Machine & Philipp Straub - Hold You In The Moment
05. Digitaria - Revenge Of The Fantasy
06. Emerson, Digweed & Muir - Fanfare - Marc Romboy Moving Atoms Mix
07. Amari - Cult Vision
08. Moonface - Across The Gulf Of Space
09. Guy J - 2026
10. Lee Van Dowski - 8H24
11. Eagles & Butterflies - Murder Was The Bass - Lee Van Dowski Remix


01. Quivver - This Was - Reprise
02. Stelios Vassiloudis - Volver
03. Tiefstone - Kratos
04. CJ Jeff - Side Effects
05. Sam Jaspersohn - Islands
06. D-Nox & Beckers - Mondays
07. Uner - The Dock and the Elevator
08. Ryan Davis & Microtrauma - Recurrence
09. Dave Angel - Inside Out
10. Kontakt - Wild Forest

CD3 - C-Jay - Echoes

01. Finko
02. Trip
03. The Experience of Love
04. Equanimity
05. Carte Blanche
06. Bonus track: BackSlider Part 3 - C-Jay’s Endless Ambient Remix
Post a Comment